Stimulus Checks For People In 3 States

Stimulus Check
Stimulus Checks

It has already been documented that Americans will not be receiving any more stimulus check payments from Congress– but there are a few states that are still offering some form of payment to help the residents continue to recover from the pandemic financially.

Although the payments aren’t as widely offered as they were in the early stages of the pandemic, people in these three states can still expect some form of extra payment this summer- the states being Alaska, Montana, and New Mexico. In Alaska, the Permanent Fund has been distributing annual dividends to residents for over two decades.

The upcoming payments are expected to be distributed again this month as the state will be paying residents from investment earnings on mineral royalties. Some of the payments were already issued in June, and the remaining dividends will be issued on the 20th of July. 

Stimulus Check Payments in A Few American States

In Montana, the new stimulus check package will be rolled out this month. Earlier in 2023, Governor Greg Gianforte had signed into law three separate state bills that will provide multiple tax rebates for eligible taxpayers. The payments will begin on the 3rd of July, and the Department of Revenue will issue rebates to around 530,000 qualifying taxpayers who have filed a 2021 tax return by the 17th of October 2022. The payments- which are also called the Individual Income Tax Rebate, are the result of House Bill 192, which has set aside $480 million from the budget surplus of the state for the payments. 

In New Mexico, the Legislature and Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham went on to approve two types of stimulus check rebates for the residents- one for the taxpayers, and one for the individuals who were not required to file their taxes.